Maps and Other Visitor Resources
Tuscarawas County is conveniently located between Cleveland, Columbus, Pittsburgh and Wheeling along the I-77 corridor, accessible via I-77, US 250, SR 39 and SR 36.
- Akron (50 miles)
- Cambridge (40 miles)
- Canton (30 miles)
- Cincinnati (225 miles)
- Cleveland (90 miles)
- Columbus (120 miles)
- Coshocton (35 miles)
- Dayton (190 miles)
- Mansfield (70 miles)
- Marietta (81 miles)
- Steubenville (55 miles)
- Toledo (80 miles)
- Youngstown (95 miles)
- Zanesville (65 miles)
Maps of the State of Ohio
We have printed maps of the State of Ohio available in our office and visitor kiosk. They are also available from the Ohio Department of Transportation here. They have both low and high resolution images of the map available for download. Printed copies from ODOT can be requested here.
Baron Bus Line/Greyhound
Ticket Address: Joe’s Shoe Repair, 130 E. High Ave, New Philadelphia OH 44663
Ticket Phone: 330-364-4131
Pickup/Dropoff Address: Eagle Truck Stop & Family Restaurant, 216 16th St SW, New Philadelphia OH 44663
Pickup/Dropoff Phone: 330-339-4080
Enterprise Rental Cars
Address: 1338 4th St NW, New Philadelphia OH 44663
Enterprise Rental Cars in New Philadelphia is open Moday-Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. and from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturday.
Quality Shuttle Services
Address: 172 Overmont Ave SW, Massillon OH 44646
Quality Shuttle Services provides transportation from Cleveland Hopkins Airport (CLE) and the Akron-Canton Airport (CAK) to the Tuscarawas County area. They are also available, by reservation, for transportation to and from weddings, parties, and other events.
Glow Limos has a variety of packages to choose from and they offer affordable rates. Serving New Philadelphia, Dover, Akron, Canton, Columbus, Youngstown, Cleveland, Cambridge, Toledo and surrounding areas.
Address: New Philadelphia, OH 44663
Performance Taxi is a 24/7 taxi service out of New Philadelphia. The offer a wide range of local and long distance services. Serves the greater Tuscarawas Valley.
Ruefly’s Transport & Courier Service
Address: Dover, OH 44622
Ruefly’s Transport & Courier Service serves the greater Tuscarawas Valley area. This taxi service charges per minute.
Scott’s Taxi & Delivery Service
Address: Baltic, OH 43084
Scott’s Taxi & Delivery Service has vans, trucks, and trailers available to move people and their items to their destination. Local and long distance taxi service is available.
If you would like to request maps and information from the Tuscarawas County CVB, please visit our Request Information page.
History & Genealogy Organizations
Tuscarawas County Historical Society
Address: Kent State University Tuscarawas Campus Library, 330 University Drive NE, New Philadelphia, Ohio 44663
Phone: (330) 339-3391 Ext. 47494
Established in 1921, the Tuscarawas County Historical Society’s purpose is to stimulate interest and encourage research into local history. Their hours are Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 8am to 12pm.
Tuscarawas County Genealogy Society
Address: 307 Center Street, Dennison, Ohio 44621
Phone: (740) 922-0531
PO Box 141
New Philadelphia, Ohio 44663
Formed in 1968, the Tuscarawas County Genealogical Society is open Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday from 11am to 3pm. Other hours may be arranged for research with a three day notice; please call to make an appointment.
Tuscarawas County Probate Court
Address: 101 E High Avenue, New Philadelphia, Ohio 44663
Phone: (330) 365-3266
The Tuscarawas County Probate Court is open from 8am to 4:30pm and is closed on all Federal Holidays. They have old records available on microfilm, estates and marriage records beginning in 1808 and birth and death records from 1867 to 1908.
Tuscarawas County History
The inhabitants of Tuscarawas County Ohio, prior to the arrival of European colonists in 1750, were the Unami and Munsee people of the Lenape Native American tribe – also known as the Delaware Indians. They were instrumental in creating the burial mounds and trails that would highlight the area for generations to come. One of the greatest of these trails was the Big Trail, used by the Native people to travel from the Great Lakes to the Ohio River, and it largely followed the Tuscarawas and Muskingum Rivers.
One of Baltic’s most unique attractions is the Historic Baltic Mills, one of Ohio’s oldest flour and feed mills, now a boutique winery called Baltic Mills Winery. The Village of Baltic also holds the distinction of being in three different counties at once (Coshocton, Holmes and Tuscarawas).
One of Bolivar’s most unique attractions is the Fort Laurens State Memorial. The site of Ohio’s only Revolutionary War Fort, a small garrison of 200 American troops withstood a siege from British and Native American forces in 1779, though they suffered a loss of 23 of their number. Their sacrifice is honored at the Museum and in the Tomb of the Unknown Patriot of the American Revolution.
Dover remained a milling center for many years, first with flour and then with steel. Industralist J.E. Reeves aquired the first steel rolling mill in 1882 and began the Reeves Steel Manufacuring corporation. His home has since become a Victorian Museum. Dover was also home to Ernest “Mooney” Warther – the World’s Master Carver. His home and shop has also become a museum you can visit year-round.
Years later, in 1798, the Village of Gnadenhutten was re-established with the return of John Heckewelder. Many Moravian families from eastern Pennsylvania eventually settled in the area. A museum owned and operated by the Village and the Gnadenhutten Historical Society was opened in 1963.
This Village was also the birthplace of many famous people, including Woody Hayes, Cy Young, and Anita Loos. For a glimpse into the history of Newcomerstown, be sure to visit the Temperance Tavern Museum and the Olde Main Street Museum & Social Center – both operated by the Newcomerstown Historical Society.
The story of New Philadelphia is incomplete, however, without mentioning Schoenbrunn Village. Founded in 1772 as a Moravian mission to the Lenepe people, it was the first Christian settlement in what is now known as Ohio and is located within the city limits. You can learn more about that story at Historic Schoenbrunn Village and Trumpet in the Land.
Though the prosperty that the canal and railroad brought are now gone, Port Washington is still evokes memories of the booming canal town it once was. This great American village is also home to a great town hall, built in 1878, which was declared a National Historic Site due to its mesmerizing three story spiral staircase, one of the last remaining of its kind in the country.
Settled by Pennsylvania Germans in 1810, Strasburg prospered due to the development of the Cleveland, Lorain and Wheeling Railroad – now a part of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad – and the establishment of the Garver Brothers Store, then known as the “World’s Largest Country Store.” The village became a hub for passenger train travel and freight.
Today, you can celebrate the Village’s history with the Strasburg Corn Festival – an annual event featuring wonderful food, game tournaments and a car show.
Sugarcreek was founded soon after the Conotton Valley Railroad was built through the area in 1882. A single depot was built east of the thriving village of Shanesville, and as the area grew it became nown as the town “East of Shanesville.” It wasn’t until 1968 until the two towns, Sugarcreek and Shanesville, consolodated.
Due to extensive clay and coal deposits, Sugarcreek became home to a booming brick and tile manufacturing industry. Sugarcreek is also home to “The Budget” – established in 1890 by John C. Miller – which has international circulation amongst the Amish and Mennonite people.
Sugarcreek is unique in the way it has combined and celebrated its German, Swiss and Amish heritage – promoting both Old World Charm and modern industry.
Uhrichsville was plotted in 1822, but it was not incorporated until 1866. It eventually became a central station for the Cleveland wheat market, being the outlet for nearly all the grain raised in the Stillwater Valley. The clay industry also flourished here, earning Uhrichsville the name “Clay Capital of the World.”
Dennison, incoprorated in 1873, was home to one of the leading coal suppliers in the area, the Dennison Coal Company. During WWI and WWII, the Dennison Railroad Depot served millions of service men on their way to the front. Today the Depot is recognized as a National Historic Landmark.
Zoar, the name, suggests a sanctuary from the evil forces of the world. As Lot sought refuge at Zoar from the destruction of Sodom, so a group of German Separatists from Wurttemberg sought refuge in the United States of America from the persecution inflicted upon them by their government because of their religious beliefs. They found a haven on the east bank of the Tuscarawas River in the state of Ohio and named the chosen spot Zoar. There they began one of the most interesting experiments in communal living in the history of the United States.
Although Zoar was founded primarily as a religious community, the Separatists introduced a communal system in order to pay their debts for the land and to make a living for the people. One fact, however, must be emphasized: the communal system was adopted only as a means of guaranteeing the economic life of the Zoarites and of maintaining the community as a social and religious entity. Aside from the distinction gained by its communal way of life, Zoar is an interesting example of the persistence of a European culture in America.